AUGC Award Winners 2011 2015-07-28T10:46:42+00:00

61st Atlantic Universities Geological Conference (AUGC)

October 20-22, 2011, Memorial University, St. John’s, NL

Science Atlantic-NSERC Award (Award Description)

Dewey Dunnington, Acadia University
Tracking late-Holocene environmental change at Long Lake, New Brunswick-Nova Scotia border region, Canada

CSPG (Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists) Award (Award Description)

Derrick Midwinter, Dalhousie University
The Depositional Regime of Early Triassic Sedimentation in the Bjorne Formation on the Eastern Margin of the Sverdrup Basin, Ellesmere Island, Nunavut, Canada

Frank Shea Memorial Award (Award Description)

Erin Adlakha, Saint Mary’s University
Constraining hydrothermal and magmatic processes beneath the Merensky Reef and UG2 Chromitite, Bushveld Complex, RSA

CSEG (Canadian Society of Exploration Geophysicists) Foundation Award (Award Description)

Andrea Christians, Saint Mary’s University
Re-examining Pleistocene tunnel valleys on the Scotian Shelf and their implications for slope sediment delivery

Best Poster Award

Sponsor: Imperial Oil

Mariella Nalepa, Acadia University
Investigation of the form and age of the Bloody Creek Crater, southwestern Nova Scotia

CSEG (Canadian Society of Exploration Geophysicists) Challenge Bowl

A knock-out quiz style, with the winning team awarded a trip to the annual meeting of the CSEG to compete nationally, with the potential for the winning team there to continue to an international competition

Ky Hughson and Mike Richards, University of New Brunswick