AUGC Award Winners 2010 2017-11-28T09:57:58+00:00

60th Atlantic Universities Geological Conference (AUGC)

October 28-30, 2010, Acadia University, Halifax, NS

APICS-NSERC Award (Award Description)

Travis McCarron

Travis McCarron, St. Francis Xavier University
The origin and composition of polyphase inclusions in tourmaline from the Greenbushes pegmatite, Western Australia

CSPG Award (Award Description)

Best paper in petroleum geology
Sponsor: Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists

Frank Ryan

Frank Ryan, Memorial University
Early Jurassic Gordondale Member — Shale gas potential and XRD, wireline log, and TOC analysis

Frank Shea Memorial Award (Award Description)

Best paper in economic geology
Sponsor: Mining Society of Nova Scotia

Sarah Gordon

Sarah Gordon, University of New Brunswick, Fredericton
The petrogenesis of calc-alkaline lamprophyres from Mali, West Africa

CSEG Foundation Award (Award Description)

Best paper in geophysics
Sponsor: Canadian Society of Exploration Geophysicists

Matthew Vaughan

Matthew Vaughan, Dalhousie University
High resolution seismic stratigraphy (GPR) of braided channel complexes in the Triassic Wolfville Formation — controls on reservoir heterogeneity

Best Poster Award

Sponsor: Imperial Oil

Nor Afiqah Mohamad Radzi

Nor Afiqah Mohamad Radzi, Acadia University
Petrography of stratigraphic units in the subsurface in the Phetchabun Basin, Thailand

CSEG Challenge Bowl

A knock-out style quiz, with the winning team awarded a trip to the annual meeting of the CSEG (Calgary, May 2011) to compete nationally for Canada’s place in the international competition
Sponsor: Canadian Society of Exploration Geophysicists

Matthew Vaughan and Anne Belanger

Matthew Vaughan and Anne Belanger, Dalhousie University