Close this search box.

Atlantic Universities Geoscience Conference

2023 Award Winners


The 2023 Atlantic Universities Geoscience Conference (AUGC) was held October 19 to 21, at the Memorial University of Newfoundland.

Review the conference program and abstracts.

AUGC Awards Descriptions

Science Atlantic Best Paper Award

Oral Presentation

Headshot of Abigail Kennedy

Abigail Kennedy

Memorial University of Newfoundland

Mapping and petrographic analysis of the gold bearing rocks beyond the known deposit zone - Marathon Gold

Frank S. Shea Memorial Award in Economic or Applied Geology

Oral Presentation

Headshot of Gabriela Fuentes Waye

Gabriela Fuentes Waye

Saint Mary's University

Timing and structural controls on mineralization in the Prairie Creek zinc-lead-silver deposit, Northwest Territories

Imperial Oil Best Poster Award

Poster Presentation

Headshot of Hayley Newell

Hayley Newell

Acadia University

MeHg and THg concentrations of Hawaiian invertebrates and surface soils: potential volcanogenic influence

Atlantic Geoscience Society (AGS) Environmental Geoscience Award

Oral Presentation

Headshot of Lauren Kew

Lauren Kew

Dalhousie University

Reconstructing changes in the Northwest Atlantic 14C depth gradient using deep water bamboo corals

Canadian Energy Geoscience Association (CEGA) Award

(Formerly known as the Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists (CSPG) Award)

Poster Presentation

Headshot of Kira Evans

Kira Evans

Memorial University of Newfoundland

Building the foundation for a 3D offshore model of Newfoundland