Last updated:

AUGC Award Winners

The 70th Atlantic Universities Geological Conference (AUGC)
November 21, 2020, University of New Brunswick Fredericton, NB

View the conference schedule (Link)

Thank you to our generous conference sponsors!

Science Atlantic
Best Paper Award

Joshua Jackman

Saint Mary's University

Microanalysis of quartz and carbonate hosted fluid inclusions associated with polymetallic mineralization (Fe-Co-Ni-Cu-As-Ag-Sb-Au-Pb), of the Cape Saint Mary’s, Lansdowne and Nictaux Falls dam occurrences in the Meguma Terrane, Nova Scotia

Imperial Oil Best Poster Award

Marie Flanagan

Memorial University of Newfoundland

Magnetics Study within the Valentine Lake Gold Property, Newfoundland and Labrador

Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists (CSPG) Award

Lindsay Oldham

Memorial University of Newfoundland

Physical Stratigraphy and Provenance of Middle Jurassic to Lower Cretaceous Adventdalen Group sandstones, central Spitsbergen, Svalbard

The Frank S. Shea
Memorial Award in Economic Geology

Moya MacDonald

University of New Brunswick Fredericton

Epithermal Gold Mineralization and Associated Alteration at the Golden Ridge Deposit, Poplar Mountain Volcanic Complex, southwestern New Brunswick: Analysis of the Role of Pyrite and Arsenopyrite during Mineralization

The Canadian Society of Exploration Geophysics Award

Sarah Greene

Memorial University of Newfoundland

Geophysical Characterization Study of Robin Hood Bay Landfill, St. John's, NL

Atlantic Geoscience Society (AGS) Environmental Geoscience Award


Hannah Sharpe

University of New Brunswick Fredericton

Benthic and planktic foraminifera distribution around Southampton Island, Hudson Bay

Previous award winners

See award winners from previous years