AUGC Award Winners 2018 2019-11-04T14:14:29+00:00

69th Atlantic Universities Geological Conference (AUGC)

October 24-26, 2019, St. Francis Xavier University, Antigonish NS

AUGC 2019 Conference Program

Science Atlantic Best Paper Award (Award Description)

Miguel Vaccaro, Acadia University
Petrology, age, and tectonic setting of the Gunshot Brook pluton, eastern Cobequid Highlands, Nova Scotia

Imperial Oil Best Poster Award (Award Description)

Andrew Wagner, Saint Mary’s University
Characterization of apatite-hosted silicate melt inclusions in magmatic rocks associated with the Cantung (W-Cu-Au) skarn deposit, Northwest Territories

Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists (CSPG) Award (Award Description)

John Mishael Dooma, Saint Mary’s University
Paleoenvironment reconstruction of the Cambrian-Ordovician boundary of Western Newfoundland using petroleum biomarkers and carbon isotope chemostratigraphy

The Frank S. Shea Memorial Award in Economic Geology (Award Description)

Natalie McNeil, Saint Mary’s University
The mineralogy, paragenesis, and petrogenesis of the polymetallic (Co-Ni-As-Au) veins of the Nictaux Falls Dam Occurrence in the Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia

Best Geophysical Presentation (CSEG Award) (Award Description)

Alex Bugden, Memorial University of Newfoundland
Detailed seismostratigraphy and well log analysis of the Saglek Basin, offshore Labrador, using regional seismic reflection profiles and intersecting wells

Atlantic Geoscience Society (AGS) Environmental Geoscience Award (Award Description)

Kayla Lawrence, Memorial University of Newfoundland
Examining CO2 sequestration potential and subsequent mineral carbonation in ultramafic rocks from the Baie Verte, NL area1