AUGC Award Winners 2013 2017-11-28T09:58:03+00:00

63rd Atlantic Universities Geological Conference (AUGC)

October 24-26, 2013, St. Francis Xavier University, Halifax, NS

Click to download the AUGC 2013 Conference Program (.pdf), including abstracts.

See the AUGC photos on Science Atlantic’s flickr page.


Best Overall Presentation (Award Description)

Sponsor: Science Atlantic
Presenter: Lois Whitehead

Award Winner: Lisa Mundry (right), Acadia University


Petrological comparison of sills and dykes in metasedimentary rocks of the Meguma terrane, Nova Scotia, and the Harlech Dome, Wales


Best Poster Award (Award Description)

Sponsor: Imperial Oil
Presenter: Greg Godec from Exxon Mobil

Award Winner: Siobhan McGoldrick (right), Dalhousie University


Petrology and Geochemistry of ca. 2680 Ma Pillowed Lavas at Sharrie Lake, Southern Slave Province, NWT


CSPG (Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists) Award (Award Description)

Presenter: Dr. Deanne van Rooyen, Cape Breton University

Award Winner: Daniel Niquet (right), Memorial University of Newfoundland


Permeability and Porosity of Collapsed Cone Structures Associated with Ophiomorpha Trace Fossils in Offshore Newfoundland Cores


Frank Shea Memorial Award (Award Description)

Presenter: Dr. Chris White (NS Dept of Natural Resources)

Award Winner: Travis White (right), University of New Brunswick


The Early Devonian, Evandale Porphyry Cu-Mo-(Au) deposit, Southern New Brunswick: Petrologic, Geochemical, Geothermobarometric, and Geochronologic Characterization of the Host Rocks and its Origin


CSEG (Canadian Society of Exploration Geophysicists) Foundation Award (Award Description)

Presenter: Mike Smorodin

Award Winner: Taylor Campbell (right), Dalhousie University

Seismic Stratigraphy and Attribute Analysis of the Mesozoic and Cenozoic of the Penobscot Area, Offshore Nova Scotia