2011 Biology Award Winners 2017-12-01T15:12:36+00:00

41st Science Atlantic Biology Conference

March 11-13, 2011, Dalhousie University, Halifax, NS

Picture of the award winners

Melissa Hebert | Sara MacLellan | Andrew Coombs | Hannah Buhariwalla | Jeff Clements | Jamie Wertman | Meaghan O’Neill | Patricia Howse

Science Atlantic Undergraduate Research Award (Award Description)

Oral, first place

Oral, second place

Oral, third place

Jeff Clements

Cape Breton University

Feeding ecology of the Northern Moonsnail (Euspira heros) (Gastropoda: Naticidae) in Cape Breton, Nova Scotia

Melissa Hebert

Mount Allison University

Diurnaland nocturnal foraging behaviours of staging Semipalmated Sandpipers in the upper Bay of Fundy

Hannah Buhariwalla

St Francis Xavier University

Cold-induced adaptations in mitochondria-rich cells of eurythermal teleost fish Fundulus heteroclitus

Poster, first place

Poster, second place

Poster, third place

Meaghan O’Neill

University of New Brunswick

Observations on the epidemiology of Loma morhua during aquaculture of Atlantic cod

Andrew Coombs

Dalhousie University

The Notch Signaling Pathway plays a Significant Role in Mast Cell Development in the Zebrafish

Patricia Howse

Memorial University

Potential impacts of Snowshoe hare (Lepus americanus) browsing on forest regeneration in the boreal forest of Central and Western Newfoundland

Botany Award, sponsored by the Canadian Botanical Association (Award Description)



Honorable Mention

Jamie Wertman

Dalhousie University

Do mitochondria catalyze programmed cell death in the Lace plant?

 Sara MacLellan

St Francis Xavier University

Mutation mediated disruption of cellulose synthesis in Arabidopsis thaliana

 Erica Fraser

Mount Saint Vincent University

Patterns of organic nitrogen utilization in fungal root endophytes